Pearls Before Swine

Random Writings

Pearls Before Swine

When I was little I was made to go to church every Sunday. Most of the things the pastor preached I could not begin to fathom. I liked Sunday school and listened intently to all the bible stories. A little blue bible was gifted to me by the Sunday school teacher. I loved that little blue book. I tried to read it but did not understand much of it.

The Bible is hard to understand even for some adults. There was a man in that book that I had grown to love because he was very kind. His name was Jesus who always seemed to be helping and healing people. The most appealing thing about Jesus was he did not care if you were poor, sick or any of those things. He didn’t care if you were white black yellow or red. I read that book all the time. I kept thinking it would tell me what to do to when my world got bad but it made no sense. I wrote I love Jesus on the edge of the closed pages because I was a big fan and I really felt love in my heart for him. He seemed like a gentle quite loving soul this “Jesus” they spoke about in my little blue bible. When my world was crazy or dangerous I would hide in the closet with my little bible full of things I didn’t understand.

I was taught in Sunday school how to pray. When things got rough I’d clutch that little bible tight and I’d pray. I’d pray for my mother to stop drinking and popping pills. Id pray for my dad to stop screaming at her and being violent. I’d pray to be anywhere else but there. Sometimes I would go up to my older sisters room where she was listening to records with the volume turned way up. Music was her bible. My sister taught me to use music to escape. I developed a lifelong relationship with music that has served me well over the years. I had all I needed to survive, my music and my bible.

The day my mama died I stopped believing and I put that bible away. I turned off the music. My adult life has been a direct reflection of all the crap I learned after I put away my bible. I lost that little bible when I was placed in Corsicana State Home by my father after my mama died. I did turn my music back on eventually and I use it all the time now. I found my bible again as well and I have read it cover to cover several times. I still don’t understand some of it. I did learn something about love from that book.

I learned you can love someone who is so totally not worthy. I had heard the phrase, “Cast not your pearls before swine” So I went and found my bible and I went looking for that phrase. After reading and studying Matthew 7:6 it reads;

“Do not give what is holy to dogs, and do not throw your pearls before swine, or they will trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.” I went on to read what it meant in plain terms. You see, in those times they did sacrifice lambs to God, which made the lamb holy because it was killed for sacred use. I went on to learn that the bible was not really talking about just dogs. It meant “Dogs” to signify people who spurn, oppose, and abuse that doctrine; people of special sourness and malignity of temper. Therefore, “Do not throw your pearls before swine”, literally meant that someone actually threw seed pearls that look like rice to wild pigs they would really trample them under foot and when the swine figured out they had been tricked they would turn and try to gut you with their tusks.

Figuratively of course, “Swine” denote those who would trample the precepts underfoot; people of impurity of life; those who are corrupt, polluted, profane and obscene. Those who would not know the value of the gospel, and who would tread it down as swine would pearls. The “pearls” being an allegory for the love you have to offer. So this is what I came up with, if you give you love to someone who lies or cheats then professes their undying love, is this person not the worst sort of swine? I say yes.

Please ladies, be it man, woman, husband, wife or girlfriend whatever, do not throw your pearls before swine. They really will gut you regardless of the words that once came from their mouths. Jesus will never let you down as long as you hold tight to your faith. The bible is like an instruction book for life, so if read it and don’t get it, ask someone to help you understand.

Leave a Reply

